Debugging Standard Deviation

In one of my previous posts, I had noted my thoughts around statistical measures like standard deviation and confidence intervals.

The fun part is of course when one has to debug these measures.

To that end I developed some insights by trying to visualize the data and plotting different kinds of charts using matplotlib

  • The code below also acts as a reference to one of the pet peeves I have when trying to plot data from a python dataframe.
  • Use the code below as reference going forward.

capture2

Also, sometimes you have to debug plots when they make no sense at all. Like this one below:

  • The first plot didnt make sense to me initially. But once I started debugging it made total sense.
  • Check the 2nd plot below which is what I get when I ‘sort’ the data

capture1

Code:

 

Leave a Reply

